NoisyGeek HQ’s Top 10 Horror Movies

My Top 10 Horror Movies

I love a good horror movie, hell I even love the really bad horror movies you find in the bargain buckets. There’s no doubt that blood and guts appeal to my “rather them than me” side but it’s not just the hardcore gore movies I like, there are numerous horror comedies which I continue to watch over and over again because lets face it blood and laughter are an epic combination.

Halloween is definitely a horror movie celebration here at NoisyGeek HQ and with that in mind I’ve compiled a quick list of my top 10 horror movies (in no particular order). These are the returning champions I watch over the Halloween weekend and the list below features everything from Zombies to wall climbing Maniacs.

I hope you enjoy reading through the below, maybe you’ll find a movie you haven’t seen before or maybe you are wired in the same crazy way i am when it comes to horror movies and have seen/loved them all. Drop a comment below with a shout out of your favourites or give me suggestions on what horror movies I should watch after these.

Number 1: Dog Soldiers – an army squad find themselves hunted by a werewolf pack in the Scottish Highlands. This is my ultimate werewolf movie, despite the general rough edges Dog Soldiers is a great gore fest. The combination of Gore and Comedy ticks all the boxes for me. View the trailer here

Number 2: GingerSnaps – Another classic werewolf movie, GingerSnaps is the story of two sisters who find themselves in trouble when one of them is bitten by a werewolf. This was the movie that brought Katharine Isabelle to my attention (you should check her out in American Mary) and I love the way the transformation was handled. View the trailer here

Number 3: Zombieland – A shy student trying to reach his family in Ohio, a gun-toting tough guy trying to find the last Twinkie, and a pair of sisters trying to get to an amusement park join forces to travel across a zombie-filled America. This is a zombie movie I watch at last once every few months, I love the Survival rules and the level of humour Tallahassee (Woody Harrelson) brings. I’m sure you’ve seen this before so I wont go into too much detail but if you haven’t please make it one of the movies you watch this Halloween. View the trailer here

Number 4: Dead Heads – Two inexplicably coherent zombies awake amidst a zombie attack, and decide to take a road trip to find the one’s lost love, unaware they are being chased by the agents of a ruthless company with its own agenda. Another zombie flick, Dead Heads was the first time I’d come across coherent zombies. There is plenty of comedy value but the death of Cheese (RIP buddy *sniff*) is something that will cause a pinch of heartache in even the toughest movie buff. I haven’t been crushed by a zombie dying since. View the trailer here

Number 5: Black Christmas – A deranged maniac returns to his old family home to find it’s now inhabited by a group of sorority sisters. Soon the sisters are picked off one by one is and it’s a race to survive the night. There are two Black Christmas movies, the original 1974 which in itself is a skin crawling story and then you have the 2006 remake. The remake takes the skeeve factor to another level, there’s a scene where the maniac is crawling between walls like a deranged spider that still makes me throw up a little in my mouth, exactly what you want in a gore movie. View the trailer here

Number 6: The Conjuring – Paranormal Investigators are asked to help a family who are being haunted by a dark presence in their farmhouse. The conjuring is one of my top modern horror movies, it’s got tension and a level of disturbing realism that still makes me check the space between my bed and the floor after watching. View the Trailer here

Number 7: A Nightmare on Elm Street – the story of a group of American Teenagers who are hunted in their dreams by a burned serial killer. Freddy’s first movie had to make an appearance on this list, it’s a complete horror classic. Robert Englund has an onscreen presence that makes him one of my top baddies of all time. View the trailer here

Number 8: 30 Days of Night – After an Alaskan town is plunged into darkness for a month, it is attacked by a bloodthirsty gang of vampires. 30 Days of Night is one of the best gore heavy vampire movies for me. Its got a terrific lead vampire and plenty of blood to satisfy the horror fan in me. The team even made up a new language just for the vampires, 100% for effort. View the trailer here

Number 9: The Texas Chain Saw Massacre – Five friends visiting their grandfather’s house in the country are hunted and terrorized by a chain-saw wielding killer and his family of grave-robbing cannibals. Another classic, Texas Chainsaw is the exact level of creepy I like in my maniac movies, leatherface is obviously a well known baddie but his movie stands the test of time. View the trailer here

Number 10: Dracula – The vampire comes to England to seduce a visitor’s fiancée and inflict havoc in the foreign land. Another must see vampire movie, Dracula is one of the original vampire movies and stands the test of time. No sparkly vampires need apply. View the trailer here

So thats it, my top 10 horror movies for this weekend. I’ll be honest, it was really hard to pick just 10 out of all the horror movies ive seen. If there is bloods, guts or peril its generally going to be a hit…as long as there is no sparkly vampires!

Enjoy your Halloween weekend and stay safe

NG v–v

2 thoughts on “NoisyGeek HQ’s Top 10 Horror Movies

    1. That’s an amazing movie, I used the meatloaf quote on Friday in a quiz I did.

      It was really hard to pick just 10, I always feel like there should be at least 20 in the top 10 list

Leave a comment