Tortured Life Review

Tortured Life

By Tpub

Genre: Horror Graphic Novel

Summary (TPUB site): Richard can see how you’re going to die. And he hates it. Cursed with visions of death, he decides to take his own life… but instead finds himself plunged into a conspiracy involving, murder, cults and a quest for immortality. He’s having a really bad week.

Tortured Life was one of the books I picked up from the Tpub stand at Glasgow Comic Con. There was a good selection of books I was interested in but Tortured Life caught my full attention.

I love a meaty horror series and Tortured Life was no exception. I’ve read it twice since buying and it’s currently sitting in the “favourite’s shelf” of NoisyGeek HQ.

The first thing that struck me about it was the high quality pages, the front cover is smooth and strokable (that’s an important quality for books trust me) and the binding is secure without restricting how the pages move.

Tortured Life isn’t just a pretty face, the story had me hooked from the first few pages. The idea of a secret group searching for immortality might be an old one but it was handled really well and given a fresh spin by the Tpub team. It wasn’t hard to work out why Tpub has so many fans.

There wasn’t one character I disliked, Bloodyman was my favourite and never failed to make me smile, he’s horrible but in a hilarious way.

You’re piss in the wind, just like the rest of them – only you were alive long enough to develop an identity” – Bloodyman

I liked that the artwork really suited the story, the colours are dark and the artwork itself was realistic which added weight to the drama in the pages.

I would recommend Tortured Life to anyone – with brilliant artwork and a well written story the Tpub team have created a 5 star series.

NoisyGeek Rating: 5 out of 5

Leave a comment