Hunter Killer by Chris Ryan Review

Hunter Killer

By Chris Ryan

Summary (Amazon): Their operations are deniable. Their skill is deadly. SAS hero Danny Black is recruited to an assassination squad directed to hunt down and kill terrorist cells in a gripping thriller from the man who knows what it’s like at the front line.

The suicide bomb strikes central London. The trail leads first to a hate cleric in a North London mosque, and his connections to a devout Saudi prince with a taste for hookers, drugs and booze. But it’s not only when Danny tracks down his target to a training camp in the Yemen that he finds there may be a connection a hell of a lot closer to home.

Chris Ryan writes the kind of no fuss books that makes you come back again and again but I had lost track last year and finally got back to his writing with hunter Killer.

Although I haven’t read the first Danny Black book I didn’t feel like I was missing anything plot wise, there is enough backstory given that I don’t need to read the first book (I will though because I liked Hunter Killer)

Hunter Killer is scarily believable and demonstrates Ryan’s talent for drawing on his past experiences and knowledge. Danny is a likable character and the banter between the men is a good relief to the harsh storyline. I really disliked Danny’s girlfriend and in the end it turned out to be a justified dislike, I’m hoping she doesn’t reappear in the next book.

Looking forward to continuing with Danny Black

NoisyGeek Rating: 5 out of 5

Leave a comment