John Wick Review

John Wick

Genre: Action

Summary (IMDB): An ex-hitman comes out of retirement to track down the gangsters that took everything from him.

***SPOILERS***

John 1

John Wick was an unexpected hit featuring lots of violence and fast paced action. I won’t lie, the initial scenes with the puppy were awful but it gave a sense of purpose and built a need to see revenge fulfilled. I’ve never watched a movie where I hated all the bad guys so much.

I was delighted to see Reeves on fine form as a badass. He brings John to life, giving the character a Dark James Bond feel. Reeves suits the unshaven, longer haired appearane.

john 3The thing I liked most about John was that he wasn’t perfect, he is very good at what he does but does find himself getting banged up frequently. This gave the movie an edge of realism over movies such as the matrix.

I liked the idea that the Continental was neutral ground – a safe haven where people could relax without worrying about business. Although not a completely new idea it was handled very well.

John_Wick_Hotel

Despite the heavy violence John Wick still has plenty of laughs which kept it from feeling overly heavy

I’ll definitely be watching this again, ill just make sure I skip the awful Puppy scene this time around

You can view the trailer here

NoisyGeek Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Leave a comment